This exchange from a Chris Matthews interview with the Family Research Council’s Peter Sprigg makes me want to suck a dick on principle:

Matthews: Do you think we should outlaw gay behavior? Sprigg: Well, I think certainly..

 Matthews: I’m just asking, should we outlaw gay behavior?

 Sprigg: I think the Supreme Court decision in Lawrence v. Texas which overturned the sodomy laws in this country was wrongly decided. I think there would be a place in this country for criminal sanctions against homosexual behavior.

 Matthews: So we should outlaw gay behavior?

 Sprigg: YES!

One thing that makes tolerable the fact that there are so many Americans this backwards and hateful is this: their world is slowly, yet inevitably, crumbling.  Every day more and more people in this country, and the world over, come closer to discarding silly biases and false divisions.  The moral cowards are losing their grip on our collective genitalia.  And they know it.  And it causes them intense anxiety.  It wakes them up in the middle of the night and…well, I’m sure the nocturnal reactions vary.   

PS: Your counterrevolution is over Mr. Sprigg.  Condolences.  The bigots lost.  The bigots will always lose.  Do you hear me Mr. Sprigg?

