My laptop is 7 years old. The keyboard is missing 4 keys (kittens pulled them off for fun) and I have to use a pair of pliers to yank the prongs on the power supply into position every time I plug it in. So I’m going to get a new one.

I’ve basically got $1000 budget. My requirements aren’t too steep: I’ll use the internets, I’d like to be reasonably up-to-date with whatever people can do with computers these days. And I’d like to be able to play some of my old Windows/DOS computer games, games I still play constantly despite the fact that they are all 5-20 years old and rot my brain. I just do it to impress the ladies.

My basic question is: PC or Mac? I’ve owned PCs for the past decade or so, mostly because they’re cheaper and there’s more software, but the thought that Vista might actually suck more ass than XP has me seriously considering switching teams. I love the idea of the Mac OS – I’m comfortable with UNIX, and I’m very comfortable with not needing 2GB of memory to run a goddamned operating system – and people tell me that it’s possible to run PC software on the new OS X. But I’m pretty sure they’re lying. Also, Macs seem expensive, even when you consider how much hardware isn’t wasted by the operating system pooping on everything. So I don’t know what to do. Advice?

relevent2intersts.jpg

